You can block someone on Snapchat in 5 easy steps. All the steps to use Snapchat for iOS or Android are the same.
- Open the Snapchat app and go to the Conversations tab and find the person you want to block. Tap the speech bubble icon (at the bottom) or the search function at the top (at the top of the magnifying glass icon ) and start typing a name into the search.
- Tap a person to start a chat.
- The tab menu icon is in the upper left corner of the chat tab.
- Select the Tab Block option.
- To confirm whether you want to block the user, click the Block button checkbox
What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?
When you block a user on Snapchat, that user will not be able to contact you or find you. For them, your Snapchat activity and the account itself will cease to exist.
- Blocked users cannot Send a photo or video snaps.
- Blocked users cannot chat with me
- Blocked users cannot View the story
- Blocked users cannot find your account when they search for you
Will the user know if you block someone on Snapchat?
Snapchat doesn’t send notifications to any users it tries to block, but users may suspect they’ve been blocked by noticing that their activity and accounts have disappeared. The only way a user can confirm that you have been blocked is to search and find the account using another unblocked Snapchat account.
Other Ways to Block Users on Snapchat
Blocking is the most extreme way to limit contact with other users, but there are less restrictive ways.
Enable Do Not Disturb
This is the most restrictive alternative to blocking and blocks all notifications from friends or groups. You can send chats and chats to any friend even if you set the snooze notifications option. You will not be disturbed whenever there is a notification.
This is a great way to disable app notifications when you want to be friends with a user while keeping notifications only for specific friends and groups. You can tap a friend to open the chat, and tap the person to find the Do Not Disturb option. Tapping the menu icon Do not disturb in the menu list.
Delete a user from your friend’s list
When you delete a user, they no longer have you as a friend because they no longer have you as a friend. They can still view your account and see any public articles you have posted. You can also send chats and chats depending on your privacy settings.
Deleting users is ideal if you want to remain able to send and receive private stories with your friends and share both private and public content. To remove a user from your friends, tap the friend to open the chat, tap the menu icon tap Remove friend from the menu list.
Change your privacy settings so that only your friends can contact you
If someone you aren’t friends with sends you a snap, tries to chat with you, or views unwanted articles, you can change your privacy settings so that you can no longer contact you. This workaround actually involves deleting the user from your friends list.
Snapchat lets you choose to let everyone (friends and non-friends) want to, or only your friends can contact you and see your stories. To change this setting, access the settings by clicking the gear icon in the upper left corner of the profile icon app, then Who can… section.
Tap Contact me and select My Friends Only your friends can send you snaps or chats. Then go back and tap. Select View My Stories My Friends or, alternatively, Custom Create a custom privacy filter to prevent certain friends from seeing your Stories.